Thanks for the haiku!

I celebrated another birthday yesterday, May 10th. This month also marks my second anniversary with WordPress. Early this month I asked my friends to post their haiku birthday greetings on my Facebook wall. A haiku is a three lined poem (5-7-5 syllables) that captures a moment and a season into an imaginative description.

Thanks to those who gave it a shot:

James! Happy Birthday!
Have a good one in Japan
Drink lots of saki! (Andy G.)

Wise and great he Is
Wish you a Happy Birthday
James sayonara! (Merapi L.)

It’s genius birthday
See you at T G I F
I will get u drunk (Eden J.)

Today is your day
Wish u a happy birthday
More birthday to come (Carlia M.)

It’s your day boss man.
Wishing you all the drunkness.
Shot shot shot shot shot. (Star I.)

a new dawn awaits
you who soak and soar in Light
be daily reborn (Kim P.)

to a writer, father, husband
Christian leader at the prime of life
Happy happy birthday dear James (Clarafe G.)

Happy birthday James
You are always be the best
Please give me saki (Joyce G.)

Continue to shine
Like the sun in the morning;
A star in the night (Jhem N.)

Thanks again everyone!

++++++

I have been reflecting on the meaning of life. This year, several friends have lost a loved one. This short video aims to underscore the importance of relationships and in celebrating them in every season of life. Consider this as my gift to all on my birthday.

Share this to someone who needs comforting.


 

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft starlight at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

– Mary Elizabeth Frye, 1932

 

Leave a Reply

