Goodbye For Now

As I am writing this blog, I am also watching the live stream of Bishop Leo Soriano’s retirement service being held in Nueva Vizcaya. Philippines. A group of male singers clad in purple shirts was singing Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “You’ll Never Walk Alone.”

….

At he end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark.

The end of 2012 also marks the end of another journey. My wife Annaliza, active duty Navy corpsman, has just completed her 3 years of service at USS Comstock LHD-45. That ship has brought her to many countries. I am very proud of her accomplishments. It is during this tour that she made First Class and Surface Warrior.

The past three years were an emotional roller coaster ride. Relationships were broken and eventually mended. This was the time and opportunity to learn the values of people close to us. At the same time, my wife lost a dear aunt. This aunt, her father’s sister, was instrumental in bringing the entire Obedoza clan to the United States.

The past three years have been a moment of pride for us as well. Our kids have consistently fared well in school – earning Platinum awards and being rated “Advanced” in their benchmarks and state standards tests. They lost their first several teeth, which the Tooth Fairy collected with monetary reward in return.

I never had a chance to go back to the job that I really love – youth ministry. However, I am thankful my family and I made National City FUMC our home church. While things happen for a reason, I am still amazed at how God’s plan unveils before me. Due to child care issues, I left my banking job and became a graveyard cashier at Sycuan. After 4 months, I transferred to Guest Relations as a supervisor. Another 8 months have passed, I was promoted again as a Manager at Bingo. When God closes a door, he opens the windows. Sometimes, he would even tear down a roof to pour his blessings down. I am blessed with the many relationships I have made – our new friends. I am also thankful and humbled for the recognition received (SDA Leadership Award).

Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Tho’ your dreams be tossed and blown.

As we move on and walk on, we will be saying goodbye to San Diego – for now. God is calling us back to Japan. We will be ringing in the New Year at the Navy Lodge Yokosuka. Sure, I will be unemployed – again! But, with the same attitude I had before, I am looking forward to the new rhythm of life. I am looking forward to being a full time dad and husband – and a part time student at night. I am looking forward to (finally) learning the Japanese language and to getting back to Tae Kwon Do, hopefully this time with my wife and kids. I am looking forward to getting involved again with the volleyball league, to running on the harbor every afternoon, to reading a book at the library, to watching the stars at night.

Walk on, walk on
With hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk alone,
You’ll never walk alone.

We have never walked alone these past three years. And, we will continue walking as a new journey awaits. We’d be ecstatic if you could come visit us. In the meantime, will you wait for us?

Image

One thought on “Goodbye For Now

Leave a Reply

