Eat More Chikin’: If You Love Democracy, Participate!

My youth group from San Diego enjoying lunch at a Chick-Fil-A during our Summer Mission Trip in Texas in 2004.

After having deluged with news about primaries and caucuses, and while we are in the midst of Olympics mania, Chick-Fil-A continues to be on radar screen. Of course, its President Dan Cathy has openly supported traditional marriage and his company donated millions of dollars to organizations that support his belief.

I love CFA and will continue to go to their stores and enjoy their nuggets and sandwiches – though I am trying to get away from their sweet tea (which I used to buy by the gallon). I think as an American company they are free to express their opinion and support legal causes inasmuch as I enjoy expressing myself through my blog and other social media. I am free to give to charities that I support and to petition my congressman and senators to stop federal funding to Planned Parenthood.

What I am not saying, though, is that I am against any group of people esp. the members of the LGBT community. If I still take my business to CFA, it doesn’t mean I am against anyone. I only happen to love their products, their promotion of healthy snacking, better toys in their kids’ meals,  and business practice of observing Sabbath (Smith 2012). Their support of traditional marriage doesn’t bother me. As long as they do not discriminate in their stores and provide products and services equally to everyone, then more power on what they do to support their beliefs!

I have friends who are gays and lesbians and they are the coolest people ever! They are the most honest, fun and caring people compared to some of my straight friends.

I am also happy that my church, at least in the Western Jurisdiction where I belong, has made a position that the general church’s stand on homosexuality is in error (Gilbert 2012).

In the spirit of democracy, I urge all my friends to express your opinion. This is the bottom line of this message. Support causes that you believe in. Petition your government. If you are offended by CFA’s position, take your business elsewhere. If you feel strongly about something, then do something about it.

Be a part of the conversation. Just like when you are urged to cast your vote during elections – participate!

The beauty of democracy is that people have inherent right to speak up. Autocratic and dictatorial states suppress this.

As a member of our community, let your voice be heard!

====

CVNeutron, “I’m Gay and I Support Chick-Fil-A”  posted 08/02/12 at cnn.com.

Gilbert, K. “Western Jurisdiction: Gay issue stand wrong” 07/26/12, retrieved from umc.org on 8/2/12.

Smith, R. “Will Chick-Fil-A Pay a Price for Its Anti-Gay Marriage Stance?”, 07/20/12, retrieved from dailyfinance.com on 8/2/12.

Leave a Reply

