Another year!

Last night at work I was showered with many wishes from my team. In reply, I also greeted everyone “Happy Birthday!”

This morning as I dropped my kids off to PrimeTime before-school program, my daughter asked why I keep on saying “Happy Birthday” back whenever people greet me. I just smiled.

It has been a joyful day indeed. I had no visitors today, but the connection I made with mostly my Facebook friends was truly delightful. My beautiful wife and kids treated me on a nice dinner, then a surprise cake was waiting at home.

I am blessed and humbled to be a part of the community of friends and family that I have. Distance has lost its meaning with the current technology. Communication is instantaneous.  A few clicks on the keyboard and mouse sends that message or poke to a loved one.

We, as a community, celebrate the birthday of our member. It happened that I am that member today. I am grateful for the wishes, greetings, pokes, cards, e-mails, crafts… and, oh, that mocha cake. I celebrate not only my birth, but the birth of my belonging to this ever increasing and evolving community of love and faith and friendship.

God has laid out a plan for me and part of it is to meet each and everyone of you in my life journey. Some of you I have only met once. A few I have never even met. But God has willed for us to be a part of His family. One day, I am sure quite a long time from now, we will all sit down around his banquet for our Grandest Reunion. Until then, may the Lord watch over you and I while we are absent from one another.

This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it. Happy Birthday to us, Community!

Leave a Reply

