Why You Should Encourage Your Team to Ask the Right Questions

I was able to dig this out from my work e-mail today. Thought I’d share it! The gist of the conversation couldn’t be more fitting today especially at my workplace. When I came on board as the supervisor of Guest Relations Day Shift, I introduced the principles of “The Five Dysfunctions of a Team” by Patrick Lencioni and “Question Behind Question” by John Miller.

James,

Before I ask my question, I would like to thank you for your fresh approach towards uniting our Team.  It has needed it for some time now.  It is my hopes that everyone will pay attention and utilize your ability to help our Team.

Questions…

How can I overcome frustration when I see a Team Member behaving in a way  that will reflect on our Team in a negative way?

How can we be a successful Team, when not everyone is playing the same game?

Are these the right questions?

D.C.

+++

Dear D.C.,

Thank you, too, for being open and accepting. I have enjoyed these open lines of communication from you, giving me the opportunity to meet where you are both emotionally and intellectually. You have allowed yourself to be vulnerable and have, in fact, been asking the right questions. All that comes in the knowledge that you trust your leaders and I truly thank you for that.

Yes, these are right questions and you are very much entitled to feel these kinds of emotions. You have set a bar of success for yourself and have been expecting the same for your team. We have a lot of work to do and our elbows will earn so much calluses as we constantly and consistently nudge our team members on their sides hoping that they, too, would only need just a few more gentle push to help them keep moving.

I believe you will never be able to overcome the frustration until you do something about it. After you have asked the right questions, what actions would follow? Re-visit your relationships with team members that need a nudging. If you both are on the same level of trust then you can proceed and have an open dialogue. Be accountable to each other (perhaps one of these days we can all meet in private and just do this!).

How can we really be a successful team when not everyone is on the same page. Unfortunately, we will never be. Team members who do not want to change their behaviors and priorities will have to find somewhere else to work. If not, they will only continue to create distractions for the rest of the team. After we have held everyone accountable to the entire team of their actions, those who fail to meet the team’s expectations after given reasonable and exhaustive opportunities to improve will have to leave. That’s where your leaders come in and let them do their job.

In the meantime, let your main concern be on how you can always exceed the expectations of your position and be a catalyst of change for the rest of the team. Your portrait at the TDR reminds us all that anyone can truly make a difference. That also means that the bar is even higher for you – which is truly a gift as it makes my job a lot easier! I know I can always count on someone like you who can lead and influence others in a positive way.

Thank you for the wonderful conversation!

James

+++

Please share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

