When You Think There’s No Hope, Think Again

Last week San Diego woke up to a grim news of a family of four found dead in their home in an apparent murder-suicide. The incident happened at a nearby neighborhood from our area. The father and their 2 children were found in the backyard pool, while the mom was found in the tub.

This morning, a man jumped to his death at a bridge, again, near our area (CA-125). California Highway Patrol tracked down the ownership of an abandoned car near the incident site, which led the authorities to a townhouse in Chula Vista where a mother and her 2 kids were found dead. Authorities believe this is another murder-suicide case.

We can only speculate as to the enormity and magnanimity of burden these people had on their shoulders. It made me think today how desperate and hopeless they were that they had to comm

it such drastic actions – the decision to terminate the reason of existence. Maybe it was the quickest way out. Maybe they have exhausted all possible solutions to their problems. Perhaps they felt like they are up against a hard, immovable and unbreakable wall. The only sensible thing to do was to raise their hands up and to give up.

Hopeless… That may be the case.

I shared with a colleague today this question, “How do people give up on hope?”

Would you, my friend?

Would you give up on hoping?

No one is exempt from the turmoils of life. We all have experienced some struggles. At some point in time we may have felt like there is no way out. Everyday in our journey we are faced with crossroads and decisions that will make an impact in our lives and the people that we care for and love – in career, finances, family, goals, and even in our sets of values and beliefs.

There are 2 things that the Bible always reminds me about when I am faced with difficulties in life:

1. God knows!

1 Corinthians 10:13 states, “But remember that the temptations that come into your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will keep the temptation from becoming so strong that you can’t stand up against it. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you will not give in to it.”  This verse reminds me that other people have been in my situation. I am not alone. Regardless of the difficulty of the situation I am in, other people have experienced it and have risen victoriously. It also reminds me that God will not let trials and temptations go any stronger than I am. I am stronger than any of these problems. God knows I can do it! I can make it! I shall overcome! Thirdly, God will take my hand and lead the way out. I know that God is making a way for me to escape. Lastly, it reminds me that God is faithful – even more faithful than a dog to his master, or a wife to her husband. God never fails to deliver His promise.

2. God’s not done yet! A friend once told me about how sometimes when we watch a game we would think that our favorite team would be losing only to win, at our surprise, at the last round or inning. Sometimes, the other team would take the lead in points, but with some well-thought out game plan our favorite team would make a great comeback and eventually emerge as a winner.  God, my friend Shane says, is just like that. God is a coach who has a game plan. We think it is game over, but God is not done yet! Just wait until the last round! This also reminds me about the Rider on the white horse who leads his armies to war.  He is clothed in a robe dipped in blood while the armies behind him are all wearing fine linen, white and pure. As we march in our battles, Jesus leads the way. All the trials and temptations in life must come through him first. Jesus will face all these bad, ugly and evil forces and his blood will protect us so that we will remain pure and blameless as we follow him. (And the name of the Rider is “Faithful and True”). Revelation 19:11-14.

When hope is gone, life becomes meaningless, worthless. There is no morning to look forward to, no children’s laughters to enjoy, no homemade cooking to get excited about. Wh
I am blessed that my Savior has died for my sins and He Himself has emerged victorious from sin and death. He conquered death, so we may live. With God’s faithfulness, I cling to that hope that one day my Savior will come again. I cling to that hope that God is faithful and true to His word. I continue to hope because my hope is “built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.” My hope is that God will protect me and will deliver me.en people give up on hope, they also give up on reasons, on love, on redemption, on second chances.

God knows and He is not quite done yet!

Don’t give up! Keep on hoping! Keep on going!

====

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo courtesy of Rick M Photography

Enjoy more breathtaking photos at facebook.com/ricky.mandagan

Leave a Reply

