Natal Day

I took the opportunity to rest these past 2 days after an extraordinary volume of hard work.  The kids and I went out to eat dinner and then proceeded to see the animated movie “Rio.” We did a quick shopping before heading back to the house. Annaliza has been away for 2 1/2 months now on her naval deployment.

Before going to bed, we were about to sing a devotional song for our evening prayer. Jason and Jasmine, wittingly smiled at each other as if giving each a prompt, then proceeded to sing…

Happy birthday to you (cha cha cha!)

Happy birthday to you (cha cha cha!)

Happy birthday, dear daddy!

Happy birthday to you (cha cha cha!)

They both leaned forward and gave me a long kiss simultaneously on each cheek. I was surprised and touched. We then prayed “Our Father.”

I was filled with joy as I read all the messages from friends, colleagues and family all across the states and around the world. Each one has sent a blessing and on each greeting I prayed and claimed that blessing from God. For the past two days, I have had over one hundred petitions of blessings sent to God. At the same time, I prayed for the same to all those who greeted me and remembered. I cannot be thankful enough.

I picture in my mind each person staring at his/her computer monitor and reading a small notification on Facebook that reads “James Nilo’s birthday” and prompted them to send a quick cheer. It might be a daily routine to send birthday greetings over Facebook, but I imagine getting one hug from each person and that alone is a big booster.

Thank you for the Natal Day. I am going to bed filled with blessings.

10-4 and goodnight.

Leave a Reply

