Can I Be Excused?

Originally posted as a Note on Facebook.com/daddynako on Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 2:59 am (Yokosuka, Japan), edited and reposted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 at 1:52 am (San Diego, California).

==========

Just a while ago our family was enjoying a sumptuous dinner prepared by my wife. Before sitting down, I hugged my wife and thanked her for all that she does including her tireless efforts to make us dinner every night.

Jason, 5, was the first one to finish. When he was done, he got off the chair and started walking to his room when I stopped him to ask, “Is there something you would want to say?”

He paused for a minute and then remembered to ask permission, “Can I be excused?”

“Yes, you can,” I answered assuringly and he left.

Not long after Jasmine, 3, finished her food, got off the chair and, just as her brother did, started to walk away when I called her to ask, “Jasmine, is there anything you would want to say?”

She turned, looked at me in the eyes, paused for a moment, clasped her hands over her mouth biting one finger as she thinks through and with a soft and yet full of confidence voice she said, “Thank you, sir!”

That was the end of the discussion. And, that was more than enough for me.

The lessons we adults learn from the little children.

One thought on “Can I Be Excused?

Leave a Reply

